low-spline realistic human head

Post unfinished images or JPatch model files for comment.

low-spline realistic human head

Postby Alex » Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:22 pm

well,

may be low-spline and realistic are two incompatible features, but for realistic I just mean not-toons. That is, for example, marvel-style rather than manga-style or disney-style.

It's just that I didn't find any tutorial showing a low-spline human head. All the tutorials on the AM site use a large number of splines, and often with low-quality results anyway..

I'm going to do some tests on this subject. I'll try to use as few splines as possible while keeping a realistic enought shape that fits to animation too. I have some experience with toons modelling and animation but this is the first time I try with the realistic style. I'll see what comes out..

Meanwhile, does anyone know any resource or site or tutorial or whatever on this subject that I could use to learn from ?

regards, Alex
Alex

Postby sascha » Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:55 am

I agree, most freely available A:M models use by for too many splines. The modles made by William Eggingtonare an exception, but they are cartoon characters.

When starring with patch modeling, I found the head modeling tutorials by Anto Matkovic quite helpfule, but the old sPatch tutorials seems to be gone...

For the woman head model (that's on display at the JPatch front-page) I used the following approach: First I took front and side view pictures using a digital camera and telephoto (200mm) lens (you don't need ultra high resolutions, so digital zoom or postprocessed magnification will also work. Just try to be about 5 meters away when taking the photos, as wide angle close ups will distort the face too much).