total newbie here, how do you use bones in latest dev versio

User support for JPatch

total newbie here, how do you use bones in latest dev versio

Postby ahmet » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:01 am

Hi
i am trying to use the bones, i had created them but they do not affect the model as i rotate them, What is the trick?

thanks
ahmet

Postby dcuny » Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:10 am

You need to bind the bones to the control points of the mesh.

The simplest thing to do is select the entire model (all the bones and control points) and then bring up the context menu with a Mouse Right Click. Choose Tools > Align controlpoints to bones from the popup menu. All the selected points will be bound to the selected bones. If more than one bone is selected, the point is assigned to the closest bone.

Notice that when the bones are bound to the control points, the control points take on the color of the bones.

To assign control points to bones seperately, click to select the bone that you want to assign points to. Then use Ctrl+Click (Control Key + Mouse Click) to select the points to bind to the bone. Choose Tools > Align controlpoints to bones from the context menu (Mouse Right Click) to bind the points to the bone.

You can also prevent points from being assigned to a bone by deleting the Pitch, Yaw and Roll attributes, since JPatch will not assign any control points to bones with no range of motion. An example might be a shoulder bone, where you might want to connect the arm to the backbone via a shoulder bone, but not want any points attached to the shoulder bone.
dcuny

Postby ahmet » Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:17 am

Thank you Dcuny

I think i did it and it works great thank you, but i guess i am frustrated because there is no way to rotate the bones in the viewport, it seems like i need to use the menu to rotate the bones?
ahmet

Postby dcuny » Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:33 pm