Renderman Woes

User support for JPatch

Renderman Woes

Postby squirrelhavoc » Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:50 am

Hello, sorry again since this is so off topic, it's not even funny. but you guys seemso nice, I thought I would ask this here first.

I recently switched to Linux (yay!), and I am having problems getting any renderman renderer to run. I am new with environment variables (i sort of know how to set PATH, but not permanently), and new with Unix in general. The problem I am getting, no matter what renderer I use, is that it can't find libraries it needs, the ones that it comes with. Ive tried 3Delight, Pixie, and uh some other one I can't remember. I tried the export LD_BLAHBLAH setting in my .bash_rc file, to automatically set it to the correct library path, but with no luck.

This might have to actually do with jpatch, I am using 0.4.1, and calling the renderer from the animator module. Now in windows, setting a variable in a DOS window only sets it for that window, not for the whole system. So am I setting it the right way, and jpatch is calling a program without the variables I set, or is setting it in bash_rc the right way to go?

Thanks for any help, I am really stumped by this one.
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Postby sascha » Sun Nov 06, 2005 8:51 am

Hello, sorry again since this is so off topic, it's not even funny. but you guys seemso nice, I thought I would ask this here first.

No problem. I could add an "off topic" forum if there is interest...

I recently switched to Linux (yay!)

Way to go! :-) Which distribution are you running?

RedHat based systems (e.g. Fedora) have a directory called /etc/profile.d that (might) contain some scripts: e.g. 00somescript.sh, 01someotherscript.sh,...
These are executed in order and can be used to set environment variables.
For example, I have a 01Java.sh file that reads
Code: Select all
JAVA_HOME="/opt/java"
PATH="$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin:/opt/eclipse:/opt/netbeans/bin"


On Ubuntu I had to install that package - it's called sysprofile and uses the directory /etc/sysprofile.d per default. You have to add a call to sysprofile to your etc/profile.
If you don't want to install sysprofile, you can add your PATH settings to /etc/profile as well.

Note that for programs started graphically via the desktop you have to set the path in /etc/X11/Xsession (or you can add a call to /etc/sysprofile there as well if you want to use that).

See man sysprofile if it is installed.

As far as JPatch is concerned: it should use the environment variables it got when you started it (and use them to invoke the renderers).
If this for some reason isn't sufficient, you can add environment-variables for each renderer in the "Renderer settings" dialog of the animator.
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby squirrelhavoc » Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:56 am

sascha wrote:No problem. I could add an "off topic" forum if there is interest...

That would be cool, people could ask questions about computer graphics in general

I recently switched to Linux (yay!)

Way to go! :-) Which distribution are you running?

I'm running Ubuntu (which I heard about here)

On Ubuntu I had to install that package - it's called sysprofile and uses the directory /etc/sysprofile.d per default. You have to add a call to sysprofile to your etc/profile.
If you don't want to install sysprofile, you can add your PATH settings to /etc/profile as well.


I'll try that, thanks
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Postby squirrelhavoc » Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:25 am

The variables I set in /etc/profile don't work, I added Pixie's bin directory to the path, and when I go "echo $PATH" after rebooting it doesn't show up. I'm thinking theres another program/script that gets executed later in bootup that overwrites the variables. Is this possible?
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Postby sascha » Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:11 am

Normally you don't overwrite the PATH but append to it. For example, the line
Code: Select all
PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin
appends $JAVA_HOME/bin to the variable PATH - the colon (:) is used to separate path entries (note that on Windows a simicolon (;) is used).
Don't forget to export the variables after you've set them:
Code: Select all
export PATH
.

Note that for applications started via X the path has to be set when launching X-Windows. E.g. on my machine there's a folder called /etc/X11/Xsession.d - All scripts in this folder will be executed when X starts up. I have a script named 99sysconfig that launches sysprofile:
Code: Select all
# include sysprofile
if [ -f /etc/sysprofile ]; then
  . /etc/sysprofile
fi

export PATH

but it should also work if you add your path settings there.
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby squirrelhavoc » Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:57 pm

Gah! After days of working on this, it's beginning to frustrate the hell outta me :)

Here are the lines I added to /etc/profile, /etc/X11/Xsession, and even my .bashrc:

Code: Select all
PATH=$PATH:"/usr/local/3delight-4.5.0/Linux-i686/bin"
export DELIGHT="/usr/local/3delight-4.5.0/Linux-i686"
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/local/3delight-4.5.0/Linux-i686/lib:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}"
export PATH
licserver $DELIGHT/license.dat


I added it to all 3 because I figured atleast one would work, but now I go to a terminal and type "echo $DELIGHT" and I see nothing. Ive tried those lines without the quotes, with the quotes, only some of it quoted, and so on...

I know it's not your responsibility, but I would appreciate any advice.

EDIT: I looked into sysprofile, and its not listed under the synaptic package manager, so I couldn't try it
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Postby sascha » Thu Nov 10, 2005 12:35 pm

Ok, I tried it out on my machine and here's what I've found out:
I've added
Code: Select all
export TEST="test"
to the following files:
1. /etc/profile: The effect was that the variable was visible on new login-shells (e.g. if you login to the box via secureshell - ssh), but not on new x-terminals.
2. ~/.bashrc: The effect was that the variable was visible in all new bash shells - but not for programs started "graphically", e.g. via a desktop shortcut.
3. I've added (as root) a file called 99test to the directory /etc/X11/XSession.d containing the export statement: After restarting X (e.g. call /etc/init.d/gdm restart as root - beware: it will shutdown X), the new variable should be visible to all X applications.

Now, if you primarily work under X-Windows, I'd choose the third approach.

I'm not a unix guru and I'm relatively new to Ubuntu - so if this doesn't work for you I'm afraid I can't help any further. I'm sure there are some Ubuntu user-forums with people eager to help :)

PS: You can set the renderer-envvars in JPatch - it's in the renderer settings dialog - you can enter a semicolon ( ; ) separated list of variables (name=value;name=value;...)
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby squirrelhavoc » Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:02 pm

Well I give up, I added that text to 99test in the Xsession.d folder, and it still cant find the libraries it needs.

Thanks anyway
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Postby sascha » Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:44 am

Is it a problem of 3Delight or of the envvars? If you type "echo $DELIGHT", so you see it?
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby squirrelhavoc » Fri Nov 11, 2005 11:20 am

Yeah I see the path , and the $PATH variable is set correctly, its the library path that isnt working
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA


Return to Support / Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron