Reference Images

General discussion about JPatch

Reference Images

Postby Mikr2006 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:48 pm

Hi I'm new J patch and I was wondering have you guys established a reference image option. I tried in J patch to look for the menu but couldn't find it. I was wondering did I miss something. sorry for noob question. :(
Mikr2006
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby dcuny » Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:12 pm

In the modeler, do a context-click (right click) on the mouse over one of the viewports to get to the proper menu:
  • Show > Rotoscope: You'll need to make sure the Rotoscope option is toggled on, or nothing will display, even if the rotoscope image is selected.
  • Rotoscope > Set rotoscope image: Use this to select an image to display. In the latest development (0.5.2cvs) release, Rotoscope > Clear rotoscope image seems to be broken, so you'll have to toggle it off with Show > Rotoscope. :?
The Rotoscope menu options appear in the Animator as well, but they probably shouldn't.

Actually, a real Rotoscope option in the animator could be rather handy... :)
dcuny
 
Posts: 2902
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:07 am

Postby Mikr2006 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:01 pm

nevermind double post
Last edited by Mikr2006 on Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mikr2006
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby Mikr2006 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:01 pm

Hey thanks for the help. I finally found a program that's easy and fun to use :D when making 3d models.
Mikr2006
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:45 pm

Postby sascha » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:31 pm

David, thanks for the explainations! Just a few notes:
In the latest development (0.5.2cvs) release...

If you just want to use the modeler, stay away from the development versions - they are quite unstable (both modeling and animation part) and I'm currently focusing on the animation part. The next stable release will be JPatch 0.6.

JPatch 0.4 isn't free of bugs, but I think it's reasonably stable to do some serious modeling. But still: Save often and to different files (to prevent damage to existing files - I haven't had any such problems with 0.4, but I can't rule them out).

Actually, a real Rotoscope option in the animator could be rather handy...

Agreed :-)
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria


Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron