A: M Loader

General discussion about JPatch

A: M Loader

Postby Waniso » Fri May 05, 2006 3:27 pm

Hi,

I'm currently developing a Java Loader for A:M models (.mdl) and actions (.act).
Any information will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

-Waniso :)
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby sascha » Fri May 05, 2006 4:29 pm

JPatch can load A:M models (the mesh only - no bones!), but not actions.
You can check out the sources from the CVS and look at AnimationMasterImport.java and HashCp.java, both old, ugly and berely documented.

Note that the code is copyrighted. You may only use it or parts of it in other open-source projects, see the GNU General Public Licesne for details.

Here's a paper written by Martin Hash describing his subdivision algorithm, followed by some notes on the file format I found on the internet.
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby Waniso » Sun May 07, 2006 11:57 pm

Thanks so much for the info. Any plans to load the bones?
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby sascha » Tue May 09, 2006 1:00 pm

Any plans to load the bones?

Not yet, perhaps in a later version.
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby Waniso » Tue May 09, 2006 4:56 pm

Hi Sascha,

How do I check out all the source from CVS?
Thanks again for your help.
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby sascha » Tue May 09, 2006 5:19 pm

Hi,

http://wiki.jpatch.com/doku.php?id=dev:developer

http://developer.berlios.de/docman/disp ... group_id=2

http://ximbiot.com/cvs/manual/

This should get you started ;-)

PS: If you just want to take a look at the code, you can also use ViewCVS at berlios:
http://cvs.berlios.de/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/jpatch/
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby Waniso » Tue May 09, 2006 5:43 pm

Thanks Sascha for the CVS setup info!
Ouch ....no ant files? right?:shock:
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby Torf » Tue May 09, 2006 6:34 pm

IIRC there are no ant files for JPatch, that's true. But there's an eclipse project file somewhere in there (Although I prefer doing all the CVS stuff via eclipse, much less hassle).
Torf
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Germany/Konstanz

Postby sascha » Tue May 09, 2006 7:59 pm

Yes, there's no ant buildfile yet - but as everybody around here is using Eclipse this wasn't a necessity yet.

The CVS should contain everything needed for Eclipse, see http://wiki.jpatch.com/doku.php?id=dev:developer.

There are some tags so you can check out old versions as well (starting from 0.4)
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby Waniso » Tue May 09, 2006 9:19 pm

Ok...I made an ant script to build JPatch from my Cygwin console.
Now...the fun part can start
:D
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby Waniso » Tue May 09, 2006 9:59 pm

Wow...am I dreaming? Got some new features in the dev version!...?
Very nice...I'm excited.
Waniso
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: France

Postby sascha » Wed May 10, 2006 7:51 am

Yes, version 0.5.3 is almost ready. Note that it doesn't fix any known bugs with the modeler (this will have to wait for version 0.5.4 when we merged the two "hook" branches again).

What's new is:
* Most "actions" are now configured from xml files, as are the menu and toolbar layouts.
* How actions are bound to menuitems, buttons and keystrokes has been completely reworked.
* You can change the keyboard shortcuts now.
* There are new "locking" toggle-buttons. You can e.g. lock the "add curve segment" mode by doubleclicking on the respective button (or by pressing the A key twice).
* There's a new pulldown-menu-button ("new" and "open")
* The focus subsystem is enabled again, so you can use tab and cursor keys to navigate through menubars or forms, some menues have mnemonic keys as well (you can use them with ALT).
* Rendering with Inyo, Povray and RenderMan does work again.

I'm currently working on the last missing feature: manipulating multiple keys in the timeline, and I think loading/saving animations is buggy right now too...
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria


Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron