Java 1.5

General discussion about JPatch

Java 1.5

Postby sascha » Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:43 pm

Is there any reason to not migrate JPatch to JRE1.5 (Java 5.0) ?
There are several new language features that would help to make the code less error prone (especially generic collections and the new for loops).
I've even found an application called Retroweaver that can convert the compiled 1.5 bytecode to run on 1.4 JVMs - so I could generate an additional 1.4 versions for user who can't or won't upgrade their Java VM.
Using 1.5 would also reduce the download size as an XML parser is included with Java 1.5 (right now the Apache Xerces2 package alone which is included with JPatch takes more than 1 megabyte).
I'm doing all development and testing with Java 1.5
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby dcuny » Tue Nov 08, 2005 1:09 pm

No problem here.
dcuny
 
Posts: 2902
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:07 am

Postby pndragon » Tue Nov 08, 2005 2:36 pm

No problem here either. I went Java 5.0 as soon as it was available
pndragon
 
Posts: 591
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 1:27 am
Location: North Carolina

Postby rjh » Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:43 pm

Hey Sascha,

Yes, Java 1.5.0.05 seema to work fine. I have tested JPatch 0.4 PREVIEW 1 with the new Java and it works fine (I have serveral animations already set up for morph only animation and need the backward compatibility). This brings a question to mind. Will my models (and their morph targets) created with JPatch 0.4 PREVIEW 1 be usable with the new Jpatch? If not, I may have to switch back and forth between the two for different shots. Not really a problem, just a work around that I would need to know about (and possibly rework my models for).

Rob
rjh
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:33 pm

Postby sascha » Tue Nov 08, 2005 5:29 pm

Will my models (and their morph targets) created with JPatch 0.4 PREVIEW 1 be usable with the new Jpatch?

Yes, they will. I generally try to maintain backward compatibility, i.e. all files saved with an old version of JPatch can be loaded with newer versions.
The opposite isn't always true, so you should avoid overwriting an old model with a new version of JPatch. I think I'm gonna add a version tag to the file - to issue a warning if you attempt to overwrite a file made with an older version.
sascha
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 9:16 am
Location: Austria

Postby squirrelhavoc » Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:23 pm

I see no problem using Java 1.5. I don't know which version I run, but upgrading is a simple task
Squirrel Havoc

We live as we think, very very slowly....
squirrelhavoc
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA


Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron